Move along, nothing to see here

To quote War Of the Worlds: "Abruptly, the sound ceased".

Yes, as is the want of this unpredictable disorder, it’s been a relatively ocd-free week or so.

Had a disasterous meeting with the diabetic nurse last Friday where I found my weight loss for the past 6 months was somehow exactly zero (everything else is fine – cholestoral , blood/sugar, liver/kidney function, BP) and having 2-3 days obsessing about food this week has been calm. Changed diet again & hoping to start walks again on Monday but, aside from that, nothing to report OCD-wise.

Making the most of it as this is a pretty rare thing. The knowledge that it WILL return can sometimes be enough to prompt its return sooner then it normally would – the joy of having an incurable disorder I guess. Sometimes makes it hard to accept the good spells for what they are but you have to try and live in the moment when you’re in one.

Family stuff has been tough this week though. Mums birthday went pretty well (loved her presents, especially the microwaveable Bagpuss warmer) but concern about my sister’s health and state of mind made things tough on her and me too I guess. Have found myself cast in the odd role of handing out parentlike advice and patronising teacheresque verbal discipline to my sis lately which is really strange when she’s 6 yrs older then me. Furthermore, I seem to be good at it! respect my authority!! *grins*.

Had the joy of my google acc being hacked for the first time too, promptly screwing up my Android phone and leading to me creating a plethora of diff accounts and passwords yesterday. Am now in far more danger of forgetting them myself then anyone else cracking them. Saw that my defunct WOW account had some activity attempted on it so am guessing the acc was brute forced by hackers. Now has its own dedicated acc so that added to the authenticator should solve it and, if not, at least stop the impact on anything else. fair to say that it’s exactly what a lot feared when Battle.net took over. As for WOW itself, have read about the upcoming expansion and am pretty nonplussed as a rogue. Not seeing anything to tempt me back from my 3-4 month break.

2 things that I am playing with. First, have got streaming working again for music and been playing some music for fellow ppl on Twitter which I’ve found as satisfying as always. Would love to get involved with an Internet radio station (have the music and no fears on the mic) so may look into that again. The other thing is that I’m toying with the idea of doing some kind of regular podcast. Part-inspired by Kev Smith’s SModcast stuff, I need a topic and the ppl. reviewing the week’s new music seems a decent topic but ppl is difficult. Only 2 I can think of that’d work and one is reluctant. Will work on it.

Ok – a comment on the love of my life. I tend to avoid talking about Liverpool FC on here knowing that football is such a divisive subject for many and unloved by others…but I feel I must make an exception atm. Am genuinely worried and fearful of what is happening there atm. beaten by Man Utd and Man City, humiliated in the League Cup by Northampton, confused tactically on the pitch and being financially raped by our owners. Dark days for a club that brings me so much joy and has a huge influence on my day-to-day feelings. In 2 weeks time we’re looking at the very real chance of the club being destroyed if Tom Hicks refinances for another 2 years or possible administration. I have faith in RH on the field – he needs more time, simple as. Bt it’s horrific to see what’s happening to us off of it and even more knowing how much worse it could get. I strongly believe that if RBS do step in and take over in October then buyers will be falling over themselves to get it for £160 mill (and that’s what they’ve been waiting for) but if they don’t? 2 more years of Hicks/Gillett, no investment, crippling interest repayments, owners alienating bidders by asking for an astronomical price, losing top players, fading into mid-table or worse…I’ll never stop supporting them (too late for that, have been nailed onto the Liver bird since I was 12) but what might happen to my club genuinely scares me. This next month, on and off the pitch, is HUGE for us.

Anyway, that’s all from here atm.

M

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a comment